VMware Horizon Community
SH1986
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

customization operation timed out VMware View 4.5

I quite new to Vmware view, and this is my first time setting it up,, so please bare with me.

I receive the error above when trying to create an automatic linked pool.

I also reviewed previous post that said abot making sure:

• DCHP is enable on master image
  • VMware view agent is installed
  • Vmware tools is installed
  • Firewall is disabled

The new VMs are created and when I login from Vsphere is see that they connect to the domain, receive IP from DHCP. But I do not see their name in my DNS.

I hope to have provided enough info, and will appreciate any help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kgsivan
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

At very first just query nslookup and check whether the clones hostname is resolving or not. Also select al the Vms from view administrator page and perform a reset and see <--  If both these actions resolve your issue then it was due to a minor network outage happened during the provisioning process.

If not then,

1. Whether the DNS server is an active directory integrated one or not ? If not check for the permission to get registered in that DNS server.

2. Whether the DNS entry received from the DHCP Server to clone is pointing to the right DNS Server ? and same DNS / Domain name is resolvable from vCenter server ?

3. Have you used Sysprep customization ? If yes please be aware that the domain setting will not be picked from the custom spec but DNS settings will be picked from custom spec. In such case the DNS setting given in custom spec should able to resolve the domain whic added in vcenter configuration page of View administrator

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
14 Replies
kgsivan
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution