VMware Horizon Community
chriswu11111
Contributor
Contributor

Vmware view Datastore access and usage for linked clones

Hi Guys please see attached picture to get a clearer picture of what i'm asking. Again just to state i'm new to vmware view so please bare with me.

I have been provided this solution by a supplier and i just wanted to ask if the data storage can be used by view manager. I will need to support 61 virtual desktops across these 3 servers.

Server 1 = left most server in picture

Server 2 = middle server in picture

Server 3 = right most server in picutre

If you look at the picture server 1 and 2 which is the left most server and the middle server both will have view manager installed on it and hence obviously they can have the linked clones provision the virtual desktops on either servers (I am going to run windows NLB on it to do this).

But the 3rd server (right most server in the picture) doesn't have view manager on it and it is a local storage to the third server. Is it possible to publish desktops on that datastore?

I assume server 1 and 2 are not able to see the datastore on server 3 to be able to provide virtual desktops on it.

Can i assume my assumptions are correct?

If not and this is possible can anyone provide some pointers on how to do this. Please not again for reference server 3 is local storage like server 1 and 2 and is not a san / nas / nfs / iscsi etc.

thanks for your help everyone.    

0 Kudos
9 Replies
gunnarb
Expert
Expert