VMware Horizon Community
defrogger
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Vmware View for only 40 users

Hi, I work for an IT consultant firm, we deal with allot of small business's and work allot with vmware on the server side.  We have been looking allot into VDI for some of our clients.  For some of the clients there would be allot of benifits with going with virtual desktops.

Problem is no one in our company has ever worked with VMware View.  Im confident I can learn it, but im worried about storage in terms of performance as i have no experience in it yet

Ive been reading up allot on this, but allot of the forums and articles ive read deal allot with large environements, not small ones.  So everyone is talking about SANs with SSD Hybrid drives and stuff like that which is really expensive.  These expensive SAN's make it to pricey to justify it to the client.

But like i said the articles all seem geared towards larger env.

Most of clients would be around 30 to 50 desktops, nothing crazy, just typicall programs like Office, Web browsing and such.  So what can i get away with in terms of storage?

Can I get a low end SAN with 7200k speed drives, or will that kill performance? Do i need 15k drives?  Three is a big differnece in price between the 2.

Is it possible to use VSA (vmware storage appliance)?

Thanks for any input

Mike

0 Kudos
7 Replies
mittim12
Immortal
Immortal

May I also recommend the bootcamp series which consist of videos producted by VMware to educate users on certain aspects of View such as planning, troubleshooting, best practices.   You can find the videos in the bootcamp forum located here, http://communities.vmware.com/community/vmtn/desktop/view/bootcamp

As far as designing it's extremely hard to put a generic number as each environment and each use case is different.    If you want an example of the types of information to come to this decision I suggest reviewing Andre's View calculator here, http://myvirtualcloud.net/?page_id=1076.