VMware Horizon Community
TeckieChap
Contributor
Contributor

Vmware Horizon on-premises access to Microsoft 365. Conditional access on client instances.

Hi.

I'm fairly new at VMware Horizon on premises.

Looking for ways to secure access from Onprem VmWare clients to a Microsoft 365 tenant.

Is it possible to via Microsoft 365 conditional access to limit horizon clients to access Microsoft 365 data? I know that access can be secured via IP/Users++

There is a Ignite video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YcBoWznY_CI that shows that you can add a Vmware Horizon cloud subscription on existing on-premises Vmware Horizon infrastructure and by doing so gain Horizon Control Plane which is managed by Wmware.

test.png

There is a learn page from microsoft https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-365/enterprise/set-up-vmware-horizon that points to accessing a Microsoft 365 Cloud pc which then can be secured via Conditional access. But it looks like this would only work on VmWare Horizon cloud..

"VMware Horizon is a cloud-based service that lets you deliver Windows 365 Enterprise desktops to your users from any device and location. With VMware Horizon, you can use the power and security of Windows 365 Enterprise, while simplifying the management and deployment of your virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI)."

Anyone have experience with this?

kinds regards

Bjorn

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Reply
Jubish-Jose
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hey mate,

Sorry, I don't think I fully understand the problem here. 

You have asked about Microsoft 365 which is a suite of applications from MS (e. g. Office 365, Defender etc.). If you mean Windows 365, its a cloud PC offering from MS, so I guess you meant the latter. 

If your requirement is to have a desktop running Windows client OS (Windows 10/11) and access it using VMware Horizon client, there are different ways to do that. The screenshot in your post shows two different ways, but there are more.