VMware Horizon Community
defrogger
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

View Storage Tiering

Hello, im a little new to VDI.  VDI is already in place and im taking over things.  Currently there is not that much deployed yet and we want to start using Storage Tiers

What we have

Vcenter 5.5

Hosts Esxi 5.5 (5 Hosts)

VMware View 6

Storage

NetApp Array - There is 3 Luns that are Flash SSD Storage, Each 1 TB.  Then there is two LUNs 500 Gigs each of 15k SAS Drives.  And three Luns 1 TB each of Sata Storage.  We also have plenty of Sata Storage we can add if need be, might be able to add more SAS is needed.

So ive been going over things and there not using the SAS or Sata Storage.  There only using the SSD storage which concerns me as we plan on adding more Pools and SSD is at a premium.

We are using Linked Clones and currently there are Two Pools.  Each pool is a Floating pool so no need to keep user data and they refresh at night.  One pool is only 15 Desktops and the other is 120 Desktops.

The two pools were kind of Proof of Concept pools and its actually being used for Production now. 

Going forward the plan is to add more pools, possibly another 400 VM's, as of right now the new VM's would be floating pools so no need to keep user data. 

I want to do Storage Tiering as there is no budget to buy more SSD storage. 

I know I can split the Storage so that the Replica's are on the SSD storage and OS and other files are on Slower Storage.

So now some questions

1. My understanding is Replica's should be on Tier 1 Storage (ssd), the OS and other files can be on slower storage, but should it be on SAS 15k drive storage or can it be on slower Sata storage? Hopefully Sata

2. Lets say I end up with 5 Pools.  Im assuming I can have more then one replica on the same LUN? or should I be splitting up my Luns per Replica?  This would mean I need to carve out my LUNs differently