VMware Horizon Community
NDimopoulos
Contributor
Contributor

View Setup

Greetings everyone,

I am new to this so bare with me please.

My idea is to set up one machine that will have say 2 virtual machines in it. 2 users in the company would then 'connect' their thin clients to each of those virtual machines.

Now I was told that VM View is what I need to be looking at (correct me if I am wrong).

I downloaded everything there was in the evaluation section and started reading the relevant guide which was cryptic at best.

For starters I had to install ESX on the server that would host the virtual machines.

Then I had to install the vSphere client on my notebook and connect to the server so that I can create virtual machines. Because this is a test installation want a new domain. So I created a Windows 2003 server VM and promoted that as the PDC of my new domain.

I created another Windows 2003 machine and installed in it the vCenter.

A third Windows 2003 machine was created and the connection manager was installed in it.

I created a Windows XP virtual machine and installed the Agent in there.

I have set up the IP of the vCenter in the connection manager.

I have installed the View Client on the notebook which will act as the thin client.

Now the manual is not what I see on screen. It references that one can take snapshots from VMs and set them up as templates. I cannot do that since the relevant options do not exist in my menus. Is it because this is an evaluation version? The way I used to clone machines was to export the machine on my notebook and then import it again in the server through the vSphere client.

Also it appears that vCenter should have a listing of my Windows XP machine which it doesn't. vCenter doesn't list anything - only a Datastore entry and everything else is empty.

I am doing something wrong but I cannot figure out what since the guide does not correspond to what I am looking at.

Any pointers would be more than welcome.

Thank you.