VMware Horizon Community
Jacky_Chu
Contributor
Contributor

Video performance is bad when using PCoIP

Hi All,

I am new to VMware View and trying to compare the performance between View and XenDesktop. I followed the administrator guide to build a testing environment including AD/DHCP/DNS, View Connection Server, vCenter, ESXi 5.0 Update 1. For the golden image, I followed Windows 7 Optimization Guide non-personal management script to tune the values and install necessary software/patch. I also created a VDA template and guest customization in ESXi for dedicated autmated pool deployment. After reading the PCoIP optimization guide, I have imported and updated the PCoIP policy to AD policy management and tweak the following parameter.

- Disable Turn off Build-to-Lossless feature

- Configure the PCoIP session audio bandwidth limit: 100

- Configure PCoIP client image cache size policy: 300

I try to connect the VDA from the client machine via latest version of View Client with PCoIP protocol. When I play the default Windows 7 video Wildlife in HD, it run very badly. However, if I change the protocol to RDP, it plays smoothly as same as the local machine. My question is if any missing item I have during the testing? Here is the server and OS platform I used in the testing. Any suggestion would be higly appreciate.

Server OS: VM Guest, Windows 2008 R2, 1 CPU, 2GB RAM

VM Host: ESXi 5, XEON 5600, 5xSAS HDD,32GB RAM

VDA: Windows 7 SP1, 2 CPU, 2GB RAM

Remote Client Machine: Windows 7 SP1, 4CPU, 8GB RAM

All of them are running internal LAN network without any security device control. No AV, IPS are installed on all machines.

Rgds,

Jacky

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership

What version of View are you running?

What is the size of video are you running (fullscreen?)

What hardware version does the virtual desktop have?

How many monitors does the client have?

How does the cpu-utilisation look like when playing the video? What is consuming cpu?