VMware Horizon Community
mjtvillanova
Contributor
Contributor

VMware View - Changes to Parent don't propagate to Linked Clones?

Hi -

I'm very new to VMware View and testing it in demo. I have a test environment with View 5 and vCenter 5. I've created a golden image, then generating Linked Clones off the golden image.

How do I get my changes from the golden image to propagate to my linked clones in a timely fashion? The only solution I found is to delete the linked clone desktops, then have a new one generated. This is taking View about 30 minutes to create one new Linked Clone for Windows 7 64-Bit. I don't understand it because i'm running RAID 50 on 6 dedicated drives at 15k.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
mittim12
Immortal
Immortal

Whenever you deploy a new image to the pool a new replica will have to be created.   I find the best thing to do is simply recompose one of the desktops with the new image so that the pool remains online and functional with the older image.  Once the replica is completed you can then go and recompose the entire pool if you want.

0 Kudos
mjtvillanova
Contributor
Contributor

I understand what you are saying, but not how to do it. Could you elaborate a little further?

0 Kudos
mittim12
Immortal
Immortal

Well the first step would be to power on the parent machine,  login and make your changes, do your ipconfig /release and shutdown the parent machine, make the new snapshot, and then you can recompose members of your View pool to the new snapshot.   This will create a new replica machine and then linked clones can be built based on this new replica. 

0 Kudos
mjtvillanova
Contributor
Contributor

I was doing what you said almost exactly, but confused by " then you can recompose members of your View pool to the new snapshot. " I think I need to understand exactly how to "recompose" properly.

Here is what I have done:

1) Power on parent

2) Make changes to parent (example: Install Adobe Reader X)