VMware Horizon Community
ditro2001
Contributor
Contributor

VMare Desktop non-persistent

Hello together,

I'm new to the VMware View thing...is it possible to create an individiul desktop for an non-persistent desktop?

I think of the following. I need a few desktops where a user can log in but after he logged off the desktop turns into its original state. - Like with VMware ACE.

regards

0 Kudos
7 Replies
TheKubMI
Contributor
Contributor

When setting up your non-persistent pool you have an option to check "power off and delete VM after first use". Provided you have the automatic provisioning enabled the system should return (actually rebuild) to its original state.

0 Kudos
ditro2001
Contributor
Contributor

okay..

but only rebuild...not like in ace where the user logs off and every change is not being written to hard disk.

so you can theoretically log in within the next second.

0 Kudos
TheKubMI
Contributor
Contributor

Well you can always allocate +1 desktops in your pool so there is always one ready and waiting. That way when you sign out, View will destroy the 1st VM and when you connect a second later you will use the 2nd one, and as you use the 2nd one View will rebuild the first.

If that is not what you want you can with in vCenter specify a VM to have a non-persistent hard disk which will behave the way you describe. Though I would imagine that is not something that is supported with View so you would have to manage that machine just like a normal VM (vCenter) and not use the tools that View provides. Users should still be able to connect to the system fine with RDP (not the view client).

0 Kudos
ditro2001
Contributor
Contributor

Okay...

I got it...I think your described way is a good solution.

If I use a normal machine with RDP I do not have the USB redirection and the MMR -> so this won't work

0 Kudos
TAFVMWare
Enthusiast
Enthusiast