VMware Horizon Community
estela
Contributor
Contributor

VDI sizing tool

Dears,

I am very new to VMware world , I have an opportunity of VDI for 200 users, I don't know what question I have to ask to the customer, how to size, what consideration has to be taken care, if I miss anything my company has to pay for the rest so I join the community for the expert advise please help me,

Please do not route me to the partner I myself is a new becoming partner  I can do by myself but I need a little hints for the same, also what I know is that there is VMware VDI sizing tool can anyody route me to it and the guide how to operate the sizing tool.

Thanks

4 Replies
sjesse
Leadership
Leadership

Start by reading the articles on this site

Horizon | VMware

there is no sizing tool you can rely on if you don't understand what you need to support. There are multiple articles that touch on the topics you need to be able to understand.

0 Kudos
NathanosBlightc
Commander
Commander

This is a suitable file for Horizon Calculation about VDI deployment on vSphere environment:

https://communities.vmware.com/servlet/JiveServlet/downloadBody/18924-102-1-24663/VDI%20Calculator-v...

So if you want to analyzing your VDI requirement please answer about following questions?

What is the OS version/build you required to use for your desktops (VMs)? and are they same? I means are they need same computing resources? It will provide information about how many Desktop pools you need for your company desktop environment.

Then you need to specify desktop types (full VM clone, Linked Clone, Instant Clone). Then you can estimate VDI server requirements, for example if you want to deploy Linked-Clone you need at least one server for Composer and one for its database.

Also you need to calculate total hardware requirement:

1. Computing resource (physical CPU and physical RAM for Horizon ESXi Cluster/Servers)