Enthusiast
Enthusiast

VBS Script Taskbar Icon Pinning Failure In A Linked Clone Environment

Infrastructure Information:

ESXi 5.0

vSphere 5.0.0 B804277

View 5.1.0 B704644

Agent 5.1.2

Linked clone with persistent disks running Windows 7 Pro.

I am running a linked clone setup with persistent disks. In order to give all users the same taskbar appearance, I use a simple VBS script (see attachment). This script removes all existing pinned icons, and then adds the pinned icons I want showing on the taskbar. Once the script is done, it deletes itself. It is launched from the registry (HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CurrentVersion\Run) through a simple run command on boot. The file is designed to run itself after every recompose, at which point it deletes itself and gets ignored until the next recompose. I have been running this file on my faculty gold for two years without a hitch.

For this latest recompose, I took my gold from zero Windows updates to all of them, upgraded from IE9 to IE10, and added Chrome. Once these features were added, I copied the VBS script to its default location in the root of C: and ran Sysprep, which basically copies the existing profile to the default profile. After every Sysprep, I create a dummy account named Bob. When I logged into Bob, the icons were removed and the new ones were added to the taskbar, and the file deleted itself just like normal. I buttoned up my image and pushed it to a test pool. In the test pool, the icons do not change, but the file does delete itself. I verified that I did indeed copy the file to the correct location by booting up the gold image and watching as the icon process completed.