VMware Horizon Community
NickChap42
Contributor
Contributor

Unable to install VMware Horizon (Installation Failed)

Hi All, apologies if this isn't the right area for posting this.

I've been trying to help a colleague get VMware (version 5.4.3 at first, but issue persists with other versions) installed on her Win10 PC. It was installed previously but she was experiencing a problem and we thought uninstalling + reinstalling might help. It was previously not listed in her appwiz.cpl so she uninstalled it from her Apps & Features menu (we think she installed from the Windows App store in the first instance, we need it installed from here). Now whenever she tries to install it the process stops halfway through with an Installation Failed error.

I've had a look around here at similar issues but none of the fixes seem to have helped so far (changing the permissions on the Hosts file was one of them, no improvement). I'm no expert on logs but this section seems to be relevant to the failed install:

[02C4:02BC][2020-08-28T16:43:31]e000: Error 0x80070643: Failed to execute MSI package.

[3E54:066C][2020-08-28T16:43:31]e000: Error 0x80070643: Failed to configure per-machine MSI package.

[3E54:066C][2020-08-28T16:43:31]i319: Applied execute package: ViewClientx64, result: 0x80070643, restart: None

[3E54:066C][2020-08-28T16:43:31]e000: Error 0x80070643: Failed to execute MSI package.

[3E54:066C][2020-08-28T16:43:31]i000: Bootstrapper_ExecutePackageBegin: Rolling back package ViewClientx64

I've attached the logs to this discussion, any assistance offered would be most appreciated.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Hotrod76
Enthusiast
Enthusiast