VMware Horizon Community
jx
Contributor
Contributor

Trouble getting Vmware View to work

Hello All,

I am new to VDI, but familier with vCenter and VI infrastructure. I am trying to setup a VDI environment and I am running into all sorts of issues. Here is what I do

1) Installed vSphere vCenter on XP SP2

2) Installed VDI connection manager on a Win2003 guest OS, running on a different ESX

3) view composer: The installation goes fine. But When I try to add the vCenter into the VDI connection manager, it says it cannot connect to composer (composer service is running). Once I restart the vCenter machine, vCenter service wouldn't start (the SCM error says the service started and stopped)

Questions I have are:

1) How do I fix this - apparently

2) Do I need SQL server or SQL express which vcenter installs is good? If SQL server is needed, which version?

3) Are there any detailed documents on how to install and configure vmware view?

4) If you guys wants to look at the log files, please let me know which one and the location

5) What is the quick pro domain on the enable composer window? Is it required to add one?

Frankly, I am stuck! Please help

~j

0 Kudos
6 Replies
zilch321
Contributor
Contributor

I'm currently doing a demo of the View environment and was just going over the documentation today. You might want to search in there about using vsphere. I'm 99% sure you cant use any vSphere products with View yet. When I downloaded the installers I took note of this because everything they license you for is ESX 3.5 era, from ESX to vCenter.

0 Kudos
jbruelasdgo
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

you are correct. VMware View still does not have support for vSphere

Jose B Ruelas

Jose B Ruelas http://aservir.wordpress.com
0 Kudos
Leostream
Contributor
Contributor

Hello!