VMware Horizon Community
royberk
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Recompose + Pool Stuck in View Admin

Hi All,

So I hate to list multiple questions/issues we are experiencing all lumped together, but we are having some issues that I feel should not be occurring.

And please note that I have just started working with VMware so I am by no means an expert, just trying to learn best practice.

View Environment:

7 ESX Hosts - mvn1 - mvn7 ( v4.1 u1)

2 Connection Servers - mvc1 + mvc2

1 Security Server - mvs1 (with hopes of putting up a second one shortly)

1 Replica Server - mvr1

Shared Storage amongst all hosts via iSCI

They are as follows ( and any help I can get on any or all of the issues would be greatly appreciated 😞

A.  First and foremost, I notice that it takes upwards of an hour to clone a machine from Template/Create a Pool of 1 VM/ Create a Linked Clone pool. Size of template is approx 30g. Ive seen articles stating that this is normal, it just seems like we would want to optimize this a bit more to have 'one off' VMs created more quickly.

B. In View admin, I have a pool that seems orphaned and will not remove itself from the Pool View. Consequently there are 5 VMs in that pool that have the Error(Missing) message. All attempts to remove the pool and/or VMs do not work. Ive tried the SVIClone command to no avail (although it stated it completed successfully). This came about after a bad Recompose. When recomposing, I may have not done it correctly and some of my VMs were deleted from VC but kept in View Admin. Now I cannot get rid of them.

C. Along those lines, can someone please confirm for me that these are the appropriate steps for Recomposing pools for updates/patches:

1. Have master template ready. Make sure VM is off.  (Drop from Domain or Keep on Domain when Snapshotting and Creating LC Pool ???)

2. Create snapshot of template

3. Follow Wizard in View and set up Linked Clone Pool - Selecting first snapshot