VMware Horizon Community
lettech
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Rapid provisioning of VDI VMs...

Hi VDI gurus.

I have recently deployed a VDI solution based on VI3, XP Pro Desktop VMs and Leostream's Desktop Broker. My question for you is how are you building your VDI VM's? Obviously I can use template builds from Virtual Center but I may have to deploy 2000-3000 of them! NO THANKS! I know some folks are doing this by using the SDK but I am not a developer...I can string together a bit of PHP in an emergency Smiley Happy

Can anyone tell me a smarter way of deploying our VDI VMs? And if your solution uses the SDK any pointers to documentation or links would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks as always!

Shanus

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
davlloyd
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Sounds like something they are writing themselves but not neccessarily for public domain. Brings up a good point though and that is the management of storage allocation when concurrently provisioning (either through multi threading or multiple sources). It is definitely one to watch as we had to throttle ours in a way that it was aware of the space being consumed by incomplete device creations and not only those already created.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
17 Replies
thinkthin
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hi,