VMware Horizon Community
raudi1
Contributor
Contributor

Pooling Question

Hi VMware community

I am an engineer for a Software company, and one of our customers is building up some VMs using your VMware Horizon 8.0 product. The customer intends to create a pool of workstations to be able to run our software, but there are some possible compatibility issues. Our software client requires a critical (and proprietary) process to be able to run, and the key here is that only one instance of that process can be present on the Operating System if our software is to work correctly.

I have three questions:

1. In creating a pool of workstations, does that pool run on a single Operating System?

2. My customer said that the workstations are pulled off of the Horizon Datastore. What is the Horizon Datastore?

3. Is the Horizon Datastore comprised of a single Operating System?

Thanks in advance for your help!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Mickeybyte
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

@raudi1 

In Horizon you can choose to have single-session VDI (e.g. Win10 OS) or multi-session VDI (RDSH). Assuming they are using single-session VDI, they create a base image including the necessary software and that image is cloned to a VDI for each user. So there should be no problems with your software.

The Horizon Datastore is probably the vSphere datastore where the VDIs are stored. There's no such thing as a Horizon Datastore.

Regards,
Mickeybyte (ITPro blog)

If you found this comment useful or an answer to your question, please mark as 'Solved' and/or click the 'Kudos' button, please ask follow-up questions if you have any.
0 Kudos
raudi1
Contributor
Contributor