VMware Horizon Community
kslish
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Persona Printing

I'm new to Personas and am in the process of testing a floating Persona pool it so we don't have to have so many staff persistent desktops to manage.

I believe have everything working except for printing.

1.) If I add a network printer as a local printer (by creating a TCP/IP port), nothing sticks and the printer disappears after logging off.

2.) If I add a network printer shared off of a print server by using it's path (i.e. //printeserver/printername) the printer stays, but complains that it doesn't have the appropriate print drivers installed after re-login, although I am thinking of adding the print drivers to the base image to see if that solves this.

However, all of our printers aren't necessarily shared via the print server.  Sooo....

3.) I tried adding a printer as a network printer and connected to it via the printer's IP address.  It installed, and already had the drivers natively in Windows 7, but this printer again disappears after logoff.

So #2 is the only one that I got to stick to the user's Persona....but that will only fix part of the problem since we've got a lot of networked printers that aren't served via our main print server.

Am I barking up the wrong tree?  Should I be trying to setup printers differently?  I'm finding the documentation thin and confusing on this part of Personas.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Makian
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

FYI I am also encountering exactly the same senario so you are not alone. Sorry i don't have a solution but will definately share the details if we find one.

0 Kudos
blakebevard
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

You definitely aren't barking up the wrong tree.  Are you using primarily windows machines with connections into View or are your users on Thin/Zero clients?