VMware Horizon Community
bkline
Contributor
Contributor

New Profile Directory Created on User Data Disk

I am new to VMWare so forgive my ignorance. It is my understanding that the consultant setup a separate User Data Disk with the idea that when we refresh or recompose persistent desktops, the user customizations will be there. However, when I refresh a persistent desktop and log back in with the same user, a new profile directory gets created on the User Data Disk. For example, I have a vditest user. I have refreshed two times since the initial Automatic Desktop Pool was created. On the User Data Disk, I now have a folder for vditest, vditest.hchc, and vditest.hchc.000. I am confused as to why a new folder is created after each refresh. I know we are running ESX 4.0 but beyond that I am not sure what other information to provide nor am I sure if this is the right forum. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

EDIT: Forgot to mention that we are using linked clones if that makes any difference.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
rosspcs
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

The profile problem you are seeing usually happens because the profile was not completely release last logoff so it locked and a new profile gets created, you will normally see an error message during logon when this happens. you can clean up the profiles by first rebooting then logon with a different account and delete the profiles.

0 Kudos
bkline
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you for the reply. I rebooted and deleted the directories and profile from the VM and User Data Disk. I then logged in as my vditest user. I did look through Event Viewer on the VM and don't see any errors about releasing the profile. I also don't see any errors when logging in. I am going home for the day so I will wait until tomorrow to refresh and see what happens.

0 Kudos
bkline
Contributor
Contributor