VMware Horizon Community
kenderkin
Contributor
Contributor

Leased VM solution using View?

we would like to setup racks of servers for small businesses to "lease" virtual pc's. reducing their cost etc

I want to know if you can do this with ESX and View and mowtly how would you set it up. I am a VM noob, other than ESXi in our lab for test networks i dont know much.

it would be awesome to get some community input based on real world exerience with remote offices, mobile users etc.

thanks!

kenderkin

0 Kudos
3 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Hi there,

yes this works from a technical perspective. You have to take care, that the licensing with VMware, Microsoft etc. is ok!

From the technical View, you will need ESX, vCenter and View.

The infrastructure depends on what you exactly want to do ...

• should the users all be in one domain?

• How does the application portfolio look like?

• do you want to have redundant server?

• how do they access the desktops (e.g. over the Internet)?

Load of question .. and more to be answered... you should speak to a VMware View partner or a VMware rep to discuss details on that ...

Thanks,

Christoph

0 Kudos
kenderkin
Contributor
Contributor

Christoph

thanks for the quick reply! I should have been more detailed.

Each SMB client will have their own domain. The overall idea is to have a cookie cutter SBS 2k3 or 8 DC, somekindof gateway device like Untangle, Workstations etc for each client on na seperate network from all other clients. This can then be replicated ad nauseum and all we have to do is move data, configure specific apps per client etc.

Target network size here is between 5-50 workstations

For our hardware i was looking at going all Dell blades with their 48TB SAN and scaling up from there as we add more and more clients. Downside is just to get started the hardware costs are about $150k!! So funding problems aside do you have oterh suggestions for hardware? I know SAN is prob going to be my biggest expense.