VMware Horizon Community
ddarvish
Contributor
Contributor

Is there an easier way than VMware View? PLEASE HELP

i am no expert when it comes to this whole virtualization thing and i would like to deploy it at my home office before i start to consider helping other individuals do the same.. vmware view is so damn complicated to setup and install and after i finally got through the install of the server app i realized there wer 1000 other things i still had to do with sql servers etc..

is there any other app or appliance that simplifies this whole thing such that  i install the app,  and it uses my AD DS for authentication and within the program i can specify what virtual machines they have access to. basically i have on my vmware hypervisor, several copies of win 7, win 8, ubuntu, osx .. and pretty much want the vsphere client simplicity of opening a console and away i go. had vmware made a damn plugin for osx  and android for the web based version i wouldnt care about vmware view .. but for now i have to so please anything you can do to make this as painless as possible

0 Kudos
4 Replies
mittim12
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the forums.     If you already have existing virtual infrastructure the setup is painless but since it requires vCenter and vSphere starting from scratch can be tough.    Here is an evaluation guide which will walk you through the View installations.

http://www.vmware.com/files/pdf/view/VMware-View-Evaluators-Guide.pdf

0 Kudos
ddarvish
Contributor
Contributor