VMware Horizon Community
KurtAckerman
Contributor
Contributor

Horizon View 5 Persona Management on a virtual Windows file server

Has anyone set up a VM to act as a Windows file server for Persona Management?

How did you set up the virtual hardware?

This is using View 5.3, vSphere 5.5, VMFS 5.

It's my first time setting up Persona Management. I'm going to build a virtual machine to store user profile data. Plan is to use Windows Server 2008 R2.

Easy enough, right? Before building the file server I wanted to consult the documentation specific to this product.

Confusion stepped in when reading page 5 of 28 in the VMware View Persona Management Deployment Guide. http://www.vmware.com/files/pdf/view/VMware-View-Persona-Management-Deployment-Guide.pdf

It states. "If a virtual machine is used as a file server, the volume storing the profiles works optimally if striped across four virtual disks, each with its own SCSI controller."

?!?!?!?!?! -huh?

Assumptions:

'Virtual disks' implies disks that are created to be available to the Guest OS.

'SCSI controller' refers to virtual SCSI adapters to run the virtual disks.

This equates to five virtual disks, each on a separate virtual SCSI adapter. (OS gets 1, Repository for Persona get 4)

I have two problems with this setup.

1. Striping must take place inside the OS? Is that right? So...inside of Windows as software RAID? Ugh...not necessary or a good idea in my experience. How does this trump the work already being done on the physical array? Could there possibly be such a huge performance difference in striping virtual disks? I mean...virtual spindles making I/O better? I'm confused.

2. When creating new virtual disks, I am able to choose to place it on a separate controller, but the limit to the number of controllers you can use is four. (One is already used by the OS)

EXAMPLE:

Before the additional virtual disk is created. (1 SCSI controller (0:0), one hard disk - This is the OS)

4-8-2014 11-40-55 PM.jpg