VMware Horizon Community
BSI-Miami
Contributor
Contributor

HP's Thin Client, VDI, and Active Directory

Hello all,

I am relatively new to the world of VDI, but I understand a great deal of the technology and what it can offer. I have a question for the community I'm hoping someone can answer. I would like to find a "howto" article on reducing the footprint (ie: disk space, removing unnecessary programs, services) of an HP Thin Client - t5720 to be precise. Google isn't being very kind to me and HP Thin Client support is a joke (sorry HP, its true).

I'm hoping someone here has experience reducing the amount of used disk space on these clients down to the bare minimum.

Also, what kind of impact will Active Directory will have on these thin clients. In other words, will profiles eat up the amount of disk space when multiple users log into the thin client or will roaming profiles eliminate this.

I apologize in advance if these question seem very basic, however I just want to make sure I have a complete understanding of this emerging technology. Any help and/or advice is greatly appreciated!

Cheers!

-Leo

0 Kudos
7 Replies
davlloyd
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Easiest way to reduce the footprint of a HP thin client is to change it with a Wyse device. HP bought Neoware for a reason and I am would think it is not because they already had a great thin client offering.

0 Kudos
sgrinker
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hahah... Dave, you said (well typed anyway) what I was thinking when I first read this post. Althought I definitely have to agree.

The HP device is running XPe, I believe. If that is the case you are only going to be able to "thin" down the footprint of the OS so much. You'll at least want to go with a Thin Client that is running some flavor of Linux, but the Wyse WNOS is going to definitely get you the smallest OS footprint.