VMware Horizon Community
Super6VCA
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

General SSL Cert Question

First off I am a newb to certificates and for that I apologize.  In our view environment we have 1 security server and 2 connection brokers. One of our brokers are for internal users (no tunneling) and the other is for External users.  When it comes to certificates Do I need to generate two different certs or do I just need one???  Any help clearing up this confusion is appreciated.  thanks.

Perry

Thank you, Perry
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

It depends how you want the users to access the brokers, with the same dns-name or separate.

I would strongly recommend the same, then the users do not have to change anything when they are on the inside/outside.

Then you also need to put the external name in your internal DNS and point it to the private ip of the internal view broker.

If you do it that way you only need one SSL cert.

// Linjo

Best regards, Linjo Please follow me on twitter: @viewgeek If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

It depends how you want the users to access the brokers, with the same dns-name or separate.

I would strongly recommend the same, then the users do not have to change anything when they are on the inside/outside.

Then you also need to put the external name in your internal DNS and point it to the private ip of the internal view broker.

If you do it that way you only need one SSL cert.

// Linjo

Best regards, Linjo Please follow me on twitter: @viewgeek If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".
0 Kudos
Super6VCA
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Thanks Linjo!  Does that Cert need to be generated from a particular server???

Thank you, Perry
0 Kudos
TitoDz
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution