VMware Horizon Community
Kjackson90
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Folder Redirection on Non-Persistent Horizon View 6.2 Environment

Hello All!

I am fairly new to the VMWare realm, my company recently did a full migration of our VDI infrastructure from Citrix to VMWare. From a overhead perspective the migration went great and our company is very happy with the performance of VMWare over Citrix but I still have a few kinks to work out.

The biggest issue of mine has been folder redirection. For all of our Non-Persistent VDI users, we redirect their Desktop, Documents, and Favorites to a network share. Generally this has always been done via group policy. Since the migration I have been seeing a large number of users that when they log into their session in the morning the machines have not applied group policy and the folders have not been redirected. With this being non-persistent users, running a GPUpdate /force on the machine does little good since it requires a log off that triggers the machine to recompose again.

If anyone has ran into this issue any assistance would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thank you in advance!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RyanGoldstein
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Couple things pop into my head.

1.  Confirm that loop back processing is enabled if you are applying policy to computer objects.

2.  I always have parent VM in the destination OU before i compose.  (few reboots in destination OU for good measure)

3.  AD related issues, broken replication, tombstoned DC...

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
childebrandt
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

I think the canned response would be GPO folder redirection just sucks. You might try Persona Management. Deployment Guide here!

I have found it works way better than GPO folder redirection. There are other options for Persona's like Profile Unity. Its not free like Persona Management but it has a ton more features.

@childebrandt42