VMware Horizon Community
CMITGuy
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Desktop Virtualization for very small business

Here is my senario... I have a small business customer that uses remote employees to do accounting work off hours. Right now, I use LogMeIn.com to allow them to remote into computers in the office and run QuickBooks. The problems with this are many, but the biggest issue is that people can't use thier office computers after hours (since they are being remote controlled by others).

I was wondering if there is a cost effective way to implement VDI on one server/computer so up to 10 people could remote into that one computer running 10 virtual XP computers. Would this be cost effective, and what would the costs be? Do I need a server to run the 10 virtual machines, or could a high end PC manage a small number of virtual machines?

Obviously I am a newbie to virtualization, so please forgive my poorly worded post.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sgrinker
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

I think a lot of your answer is going to come from what you have available already, at least in terms of cost anyway. It will depend on your current licensing models with Microsoft, what sort of server environment you currently have, etc. This is a VERY rough outline, but...

With a TS solution you'd essentially be looking at costs for:

- Server hardware (unless you have something available)

- Licensing for Server OS

- TSCal licenses

- Possible additional TS enhancements like Citrix, Provision, etc.

With a VDI solution you'd essentially be looking at costs for:

- Server hardware (again unless you have something available)

- VMWare licensing

- Licensing for each OS of the VM desktops you would be running.

- Possibly additional disk space to store your VM desktop images.

- Possibly a broker and a server for it to run on, but I don't think it would be necessary for this scale.