VMware Horizon Community
dfglover58
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Deploying Apps via Horizon 7

Greetings everyone,

I am extremely new to VMWare and I am looking for some advice on deploying apps. The community college I currently work for is using Citrix to deploy apps like the office suite, some simulation software and most importantly RDP. I have read and heard of different ways of doing this. We were sold this product on the statement that ThinApp could do all of this but I have since been told by a VMWare tech that ThinApp is not the way to go and that we should use RDSH farms for deploying apps. My predicament is that if ThinApp cannot be used to deploy RDP then we will need to purchase additional licensing for RDSH machines. Does anyone have any input/advice on this matter? Thanks in advance for the help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Smoke14
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

What is the use cases for RDP sessions currently?

What are you going to move too, Horizon View and/or Workspace?

Are you looking for a application virtualization transition from Citrix to Horizon?

So what I'm gathering from your last comments, you have Citrix and everything working but your now moving to a Horizon solution.

You can setup a Horizon environment that can leverage your current Citrix environment or build out Horizon pools that would take place of Citrix all together.

Either way, I still think you will mostly AV and TA for potential applications that need isolation. Then I would suggest to use UEM for the profile layering to manage your users persona.

If you contact me by a private message and what to discuss this over the phone, I would be more than happy too.

Mike_A

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Smoke14
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Are you staying with Citrix and want to use ThinApp to leverage Application virtualization?