VMware Horizon Community
Windows77
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Changing Active Directory password causes Outlook 2010 issues?

Has anyone ever seen or come across changing the users password in Active Directory and then cannot open outlook or sign into Microsoft Lync?  If I change the users password back to the old password everything works fine.  I have elminated AD replication issues with Microsoft and roaming profile issues.

I logged into a physical computer with the same user's username and password and had no issues.  It seems to only occurr on the virtual desktop.  We are using View 4.6. If however I remove the desktop entirely and re-create their roaming profile I am able to log into the desktop with no issues. I am fairly new to VMware so if you need more information please let me know.

Thank You

0 Kudos
10 Replies
gunnarb
Expert
Expert

I haven't seen this but based on your post I'd say it has everything to do with your profile:

"and re-create their roaming profile "

I bet if you just did that the Outlook issue would be resolved, if so this is definately not something a VMware View forum can help with.  Roaming profiles are a MS issue. 

Gunnar Berger http://www.gunnarberger.com http://www.endusercomputing.com
0 Kudos
Windows77
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thanks for replying!  I thought it was an issue with roaming profile to untill I logged into a physical computer with the same username and password and let the profile roam down.  I was able to open outlook and lync with no problem.

Only when I delete the local profile on the virtual desktop does the issue go away on the VM itself.  I've tested on a few users so all the local profile are corrupt?  Where is the password caching on the VM?

0 Kudos
gunnarb
Expert
Expert

Or the VM environment doesn't like the roaming profile.  I personally don't use roaming profiles and do everything within my power not to.  If you are using View 5, you should have access to Persona Management.  I use those profiles for View.