VMware Horizon Community
andriven
Contributor
Contributor

Best View Thin Client

I'm working on building out a VDI business practice (I'm an engineer with a Value Added Reseller) and have recently been spending a lot of time evaluating thin client options (as it seems there are no shortage of them).

Given that, I'm curious if there are any thin clients out there that people particularly like (or dislike) for View deployments.

I'm happy to add in my own research (and hands-on testing starting very soon....demo units on their way) but didn't want to slant the conversation.

Thanks in advance for any input!

0 Kudos
12 Replies
AGratefulDad
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

We have used Wyse P20's and Dell FX100's and were very disappointed with the results. We were a Dell shop and the support was terrible both from Wyse and Dell - so we demo'd a couple of HP 5740's and HP 4410 TC Laptops and have had great success.

They are stable, the ability to patch new clients once made available is a great plus for us. Also, we have found that for WAN based connections, the PCoIP did not fit our needs, but all terminals shipped with RDP 6. The ability for us to upgrade to RDP 7 on these terminals have made it a great success for everyone, our bandwidth across branch office VPN's dropped by 1/2 and the user experience, greatly improved.

Just my thoughts and experience.

--

Twitter: thevirtualguy

Twitter: @thevirtualguy
0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

The Wyse P20 is a eVGA OEM device and if I remember correctly, the FX100 as well. But last could also be a Devon IT device. Leadtek is also OEMing the eVGA PD01. These clients are all doing HW PCoIP.

My favourites are Windows Embedded devices with installed VMware View Windows Client.

Regards,

Christoph

Don't forget to award the points if this answer was helpful for you.

Blog:

http://communities.vmware.com/blogs/dommermuth |

0 Kudos
andriven
Contributor
Contributor