VMware Communities
mattyv5
Contributor
Contributor

error KB-84273.

Hello i'm on an apple m1 and i've downloaded the preview for M1 based macs but when i try to open a virtual machine i get error KB-84273. This is my first time working with a vm so i'm kinda clueless to be honest.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

You can’t run VMs that were created with Fusion on an Intel processor.

You have to build new VMs for OSes that can run on an ARM processor.

Download the Testing Guide document on this page: https://communities.vmware.com/t5/Fusion-for-Apple-Silicon-Tech/ct-p/3022

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
FarrukhZub
Contributor
Contributor

So, we have to install windows and software from scratch to new VM, or there is a way to convert Intel based VM to run on Mac M1 Pro based processor.

0 Kudos
ColoradoMarmot
Champion
Champion

There is absolutely no way to ever run an intel virtual machine on an ARM based mac.  If you have to be able to run intel guests, then you should stick with an intel mac or change to a native windows or linux intel machine.  Note that boot camp isn't an option either.  You can't put unleaded gas in a diesel engine.

Windows 11 for ARM is not supported on the preview release on M1 macs because Microsoft won't license it.  Many people here have gotten it to work, but there are significant limitations as there are no VMWare tools.

Windows 11 ARM does have an x86/64 CPU emulation layer, but it's not perfect (not as good as rosetta) and depending on the workload may or may not work properly or fast.

0 Kudos
dougpopovich
Contributor
Contributor

So how can I get a windows 10 machine on my M1 mac?

0 Kudos
Technogeezer
Immortal