VMware Communities
lupitaperalta
Contributor
Contributor

EFI shell on M2

Hello, this is my first time using VMware. I have new macbook air with an M2 chip. I've been trying trying to start my vm but have been unable to do so successfully. I've looked up a few videos on how to get past this efi shell, but they all involve FS, however my mapping table only shows BLK. How do I resolve this issue? I'm also using Ubuntu as the operating system if that information is useful. 

Screen Shot 2022-08-31 at 10.53.18 AM.png

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Technogeezer
Immortal
Immortal

Strange. I’ve not seen this drop into the UEFI shell.
Is this an existing VM (if so, where did it come from) and what Ubuntu release  are you trying to use?

- Paul (Technogeezer)
Editor of the Unofficial Fusion Companion Guides
0 Kudos
lupitaperalta
Contributor
Contributor

I created a custom VM and I'm using ubuntu 22.04.1

0 Kudos
lupitaperalta
Contributor
Contributor

I'm also not sure if this was the right thing to do but this is how im trying to install ubuntu on the vm

Screen Shot 2022-08-31 at 11.39.49 AM.png

Screen Shot 2022-08-31 at 11.40.01 AM.png

0 Kudos
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership

You are using an x86-64 build of Ubuntu.  You need the ARM version.

0 Kudos
lupitaperalta
Contributor
Contributor

I downloaded the ARM version and am seeing the same thing. I shutdown and restarted the VM. 

Screen Shot 2022-08-31 at 3.04.12 PM.png

Screen Shot 2022-08-31 at 3.04.24 PM.png

Screen Shot 2022-08-31 at 3.05.54 PM.png

0 Kudos
lupitaperalta
Contributor
Contributor

I tried to use Ubuntu 20.04.5 LTS (Focal Fossa) Daily Build (64-bit ARM (ARMv8/AArch64) desktop image) and now I'm seeing 

Screen Shot 2022-08-31 at 3.52.15 PM.png

0 Kudos
Technogeezer
Immortal
Immortal

@lupitaperalta wrote:

I created a custom VM and I'm using ubuntu 22.04.1