VMware Cloud Community
vmwareluverz
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

what do you use for srm disaster recovery site for networking solution

i'm new to vmware srm and we have two sites and trying to understand how srm and networking works between sites so when dr kicked in the networking scheme would not be affect and its for new jersey->new york offices. what do you use and suggestion please.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
azn2kew
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

If you have time read these threads had good discussion about SRM and Networking failover options as mentioned. Hopefully that helps you to plan it more effectively.

http://communities.vmware.com/message/1113568#1113568

If you found this information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Thanks!!!

Regards,

Stefan Nguyen

VMware vExpert 2009

iGeek Systems Inc.

VMware, Citrix, Microsoft Consultant

If you found this information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Thanks!!! Regards, Stefan Nguyen VMware vExpert 2009 iGeek Systems Inc. VMware vExpert, VCP 3 & 4, VSP, VTSP, CCA, CCEA, CCNA, MCSA, EMCSE, EMCISA

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
azn2kew
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

What is your current ESX version and how large is your environment? What types of storage and replication do you have between sites? What applications and dependencies involve and what is your expected RTO? If you're new to SRM I would suggest to contact VMware VAC or VMware PSO to consult and deploy SRM more effectively and just because its your core disaster recovery strategies it would be consider and architect appropriately.

If you're using ESX 3.5 right now then you can use SRM 1.0.x version but if you're planning to upgrade or use vSphere 4.0 than you would have wait until SRM 1.5 beta is available for GA then you can implement them. From the design and architecture perspective, I would focus on these: