Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

resource pool fight for production

So the company I am with now has been using VMware in test and dev for the

last year. They have had a small number of dedicated machines for a particular

app on two production boxes, but nothing else has mixed with those guest

servers. The company opted to purchase three Dell R900's (proc's fully

populated) and 64GB of RAM in each. These are Enterprise licensed.

Here is my dilemma. My boss has heard about resources pools and has some

knowledge of how they work. But, he has heard of other companies totally

botching their production environment (no doubt to misconfiguring) with resource

pools. I have been working with ESX for the last three years and all of my experience

tells me that we need to at least start with a high, medium and low resource

pool for our environment. The company is planning on putting a wide mix of

servers into production. Some require lots of resources and some require

little. Is there any documentation I can use for ammo that will possibly

convince my supervisors that this is the right thing to do? I'm really kinda

stuck right now with just shooting emails back and forth telling management

that it is a really bad idea to roll out production VMware without resource

pools.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RParker
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Here is my dilemma. My boss has heard about resources pools and has some knowledge of how they work. But, he has heard of other companies totally botching their production environment (no doubt to misconfiguring) with resource pools. I have been working with ESX for the last three years and all of my experience tells me that we need to at least start with a high, medium and low resource pool for our environment.