VMware Cloud Community
roundorange
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

iSCSI - IET or SAN Melody

Hi All,

I'm new to VMware and is currently looking at the possible "entry-level" iSCSI solutions to use to get things started with ESX3.

I've looked at quite a number of threads in the sub-forums and the direction appears to be towards SAN Melody on Windows. There is also some very brief/vague mention of Linux IET.

Does anyone have more experience to share with regard to using IET as an iSCSI target? Horror stories? Pitfalls?

How about the "dark side" of SAN Melody? Or is SAN Melody smooth sailing all the way?

I'm also keen to find out more on the strategies you guys are adopting to backup the iSCSI LUNs.

Many thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Does anyone have more experience to share with regard

to using IET as an iSCSI target? Horror stories?

Pitfalls?

I've been using IET on our test kit for ages and not had any issues. If you're Linux savvy it's pretty easy to setup and configure too. Remember you'll need some pretty decent disks in the IET server to get reasonable perfrormance from it. There is no support for IET.

How about the "dark side" of SAN Melody? Or is SAN

Melody smooth sailing all the way?

SAN melody is a much more polished "professional" product imo, but then that's what you'd expect as it costs money where as IET is free! We've also got a SAN melody server and I have found the performance of it to be slightly better than IET - but then it does of course come down to the hardware you're running it on. I believe SAN melody's caching algorithms are much better (not sure if IET uses the servers RAM as SAN cache or not) so on like-for-like hardware it should out-perform IET.

As for setup, like most windows based applications, it's a breeze. It hooks into the Windows Disk Management MMC snap-in and everything is managed via that.