VMware Cloud Community
aspx
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

how implement a best solution

Hello,

I need some help.

It's my first project with virtualization, and i have many questions with the componenents.

My money resources for the first year are limited, and I want to design a small, but scalable, solution that could be expanded somewhere after the first year.

In Second year, I want to add two more servers to infrastructure, and Upgrade the standard versions to Enterprise Versions.

I need 7 virtual machines, and for this first year, the redudancy is not priority.

I have the following two scenarios:

1) ISCSI Solution

1x DELL AX150I Base, ISCSI

2x DELL PE 1950 Xeon5130 2.0ghz /4mb 1333 FSB

2x Intel Pro 1000PT dual port server adapter, gigabit nic, cu, PCIe x 4

8gb Ram

1x VmWare Standart

2) Fibre Solution

1x DELL CX300

1x DELL PE 2950 Xeon5130 2.0ghz /4mb 1333 FSB

1x Intel Pro 1000PT dual port server adapter, gigabit nic, cu, PCIe x 4

16GB ram

1x Brocade 200E FC4 Single tier switch, 8 SW SFPs - RoHs Compiant

1x VmWare Standart

The two solutions have an equal price. I need help to personalize and select the best solution to grow.

By the way... Is it possible to implement some redundancy with any of this solutions?

Best Regards,

aspx

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
glynnd1
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

A SAN is a SAN in terms of being able to do VMotion etc. The requirement for VMotion is that shared storage.

Yes, it is possible to directly connect two servers to an array like that, but I would confirm that this will be supported. Just because IBM say it will work doesn't mean it will, you want to know that VMware will support you.

Also, you'll need to do some rework when you want to expand. By rework I mean adding in FC switches and down times on the existing environment.