VMware Cloud Community
voodoo77
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

help with network planning

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Vmware, and I'm still in the documenting process, but I'm trying to accomplish a vmware infrastructure network.

I have the following hardware :

Dell Equallogic PS6000XV - SAN - 4 NICs

2x Powerconnect 6224 24 GBE ports, managed switch

1x PowerEdge 1950 1U Quad Core Xeon with 4GB of RAM - Vcenter

3x PowerEdge 2950 2U 2x Quad Core Xeon with 64GB of RAM - 2 x quad NICs + 2 onboard - for ESX

Vmware Enterprise Edition (Mid-size acceleration kit)

Based on this, I'm planning to use 3 vlans on the physical switches, as follows :

pSwitch - vlan purpose - vSwitch

vlan 1 - production network (VMs) - vSwitch0

vlan 2 - vMotion and iSCSI traffic - vSwitch1

vlan 3 - vCenter and ESX management - vSwitch2

In the idea of having a redundant network, both switches will have fiber optic uplinks, and I'm planning on using the following NIC allocation

SAN - will have 2 NICs connected in each switch

ESX - 2 onboard NICs - vlan3 - SC and management network

- 2 NICs - vlan2 - iSCSI and vMotion network

- 2 NICs - vlan1 - production network (VMs) ( I know I can use more than 2 NICs here)

Please correct me if I'm doing something wrong.

Also, I suppose the vCenter system should have 2 NICs, one connected in vlan3, for managing the ESX hosts, and another one, connected in vlan1, in the production network, having a public IP where I can connect remotely. Is this right ?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
habibalby
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Hello,

As suggested earlier, it's better to make a Back-to-Back DMZ to place your Hosts & vCenter behind it, after that you can enble TCP 3389 RDP from your production to vCenter server which is located behind the firewall.

I have done the same setup excactly:

• 4 Hosts, each with 20 gig of ram, 6 pNICs, 2 Dual-Process 3.0 GHz & single FC HBA Dual Ports.