VMware Cloud Community
cmorrall
Contributor
Contributor

Virtualize existing file cluster, losing MSCS

I have an older MSCS setup running Windows 2000 on an older storage system. For various reasons, I cannot merge the existing SAN fabrics from this setup to a planned VMware ESX enviornment. The new ESX setup would use seperate SAN fabrics and a new storage system.

Would it be possible to use p2v to pull the existing "virtual" (in the MSCS terminology) file servers, ie resource groups, to an ESX environment? I would lose the underlying MSCS functionality, my goal would be to have as many new VMs as there were resource groups created in the MSCS cluster. The VMs would be plain windows servers, serving files with the same network name as the existing network name resources in MSCS.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
wgardiner
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Im not sure exactly what you want to achieve by trying to bring your "resource groups" accross to your virtual environment if you aren't using MSCS. I would personally build the new virtual machine, and recreate your shares manually. If you aren't using MSCS on your new file server your old resources, resource groups etc etc aren't relevent any more.

0 Kudos
cmorrall
Contributor
Contributor

Well not the resource group as such, I meant the functional equivalent of a resource group. Network name, ip adress, shares and disk volume(s).

The idea would be to make the migration a bit smoother with less downtime than to do a manual migration with copy or backup/restore, but I guess that option would be the one I would have to go with.

0 Kudos
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal