VMware Cloud Community
fvogel
Contributor
Contributor

VM Storage Strategy for ESX Server with external file server

Hello All,

Briefly, I am brand new to the ESX server platform but I do have experience using VM Ware Server. I am also a developer putting together a test lab and not a seasoned IT guy. My management recent purchased a very nice box and V3I 3.0.1 w/Upgrade 1. We also acquired a seperate very nice file server running win2k3 fileserver r2.

I put the ESX server together with no problem. What I'm trying to wrap my noodle around is how to manage our VMs effectivly. The plan is to store several hundred test VMs on the file server and then move configurations over the to esx server to run. Eventually the idea is to set up NFS between the two so we don't have to move stuff around so much.

I'm not ready for the NFS discussion yet.

What I need to do is figure out successful storage strategies for managing and organzing a large number of VMs so that they are easy to find, easy to know what they are, and not have a lot of unnecessary redundancy. I have asked for the lab manager software which I believe does all of this; but that isn't going to happen so I have to figure it out. The tough thing about VMs is that there is a lot of information needed to actually locate an appropriate VM. The OS, the configuration (i.e. is it a domain controller), the applications that are on it to test with, the configuration of the application, the app or os SP level, etc. This could lead to several VMs that are all similar but actually significantly differnt in terms of the tests but for all intents and purposes seem the same. Another constraint I have to deal with is I have to maintain configuration control of these VMs. I want people to check them out and use them and keep the library the same and will create a process to check in new VMs and widow off old VMs/configs that are no longer needed.