VMware Cloud Community
VirtualSlew
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VI3.X Rollout

I work for a medium size company, and the IT staff is basically me. Right now we're using the free VMware Server products and have 10+ servers running as VMs. We would like to impliment VI3 later this year, and move most of our remaining physical servers to VMs, incuding Sql 2005 and Exchange 2003. I'm just curious what some of your experiences have been rolling out VI3. I have no experience with VI3, ESX server or SAN technology. As I said, I have only used the freebie products. Is this a project I want to take on myself, or bring in outside support. I'm pretty competent, as I currently support a mix of 20+ Windows and Linux servers and 200+ users. I'm just not sure if I would be getting in over my head attempting this myself. Are there any good books anyone can recommend?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
doubleH
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

I was almost in the same boat as you (1 man IT shop) last year before implementing my first VI3 environment although I had some experience at my previous job on 2.5.2 (local storage). I setup a proof of concept (POC) lab at the office with 3 HP workstations (2 ESX Servers and an OpenFiler iSCSI SAN) and an ESX 3 eval license. I used OpenFiler because I knew I would deploy an iSCSI san. I ended up choosing EqualLogic. Worked with the POC for quite some time, took the install and configure class, spent days and days and days (still do) on these forums. When I was ready to deploy i brought in consultants to act as a second pair of eyes during the installation and configuration. They pointed out a few things, but 95% of my work that i carried over from the POC was correct. I preferred this method so I could have time to learn on my own and not have a consultant ram a ton of information at me in a few days while they are on site.

Good Luck!