VMware Cloud Community
itluser
Contributor
Contributor

Spec for proposed site

A client of mine has asked me to spec up a solution for the following:

2 X ESX servers - with load balance and fail over

VDI for up to 60 static desktops

There is more specific details but for my question that information should do. My question is:

Can anyone recommend what components I need to put this in place? I have plenty of VMWare ESX experience at virtualising Servers but I haven't got into the VDI side of things. I am also spec'ing up MS Hyper-V too and hoping someone might give me pros and cons there too?

Thanks

0 Kudos
7 Replies
mlubinski
Expert
Expert

I don't have VDI implemented yet, but we are preparing us into it. As far as I am aware, VMware recommends, that max count of Virtual Desktop is 8/core, so if You have 2cpu 4-core, then one ESX host should handle ~64 Virtual Desktops.

I will have more official information on 5th of march, as we will have VMware/Citrix presentation on site lead by VMware/Citrix representatives about VDI/XEN solution for desktops.

[I]If you found this or any other answer useful please consider the use of the Helpful or correct buttons to award points[/I]
0 Kudos
The_Reckoning55
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

They will only want to put VIEW or VDI machines on this cluster correct? I have had performance issues trying to run View Pools alongs side production machines.

**Remember to award points if you found this post helpful

DJ Gillit

Network Engineer

CoNetrix, Inc

www.conetrix.com

**Remember to award points if you found this post helpful DJ Gillit, VSP, VTSP Systems Integration and Special Projects localLINUX, Inc www.locallinux.com
0 Kudos
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

Product wise look at the VMware View bundles. You will neeed VMware ESX Enterprise (or Foundation w/HA) + VMware View . Some bundles exist.