VMware Cloud Community
pisko
Contributor
Contributor

Scheduled P2V

Hi all

i am new to vmware so please be gently Smiley Happy

i need a solution to have weekly "backups" of 9 physical machines ( some are DC,SQL + custom aplication )

idea is to make weekly p2v importing to 1 esx host

i should have two "copies" of machines for extra protection so i need scheduled and rotation

how can i do that and what i need ?

thanks

regards

0 Kudos
6 Replies
EllettIT
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I'm sure there's probably other solutions out there but Platespin might be an option for you. It can get pricy however, here's their website:

http://www.platespin.com/products/powerconvert/

I recently got some price quote's from them and it was $425.00 per workload for 1-49 workloads and then $85.00 per license for support and maintanence. Basicall say you would have 9 licenses for with 49 images allowed each however I think they license it for unlimited images as well. After looking at their site the "Forge" product might be of interest to you.

Also, several months back I talked to a company called "Unitrends" for a backup solution (see here: http://www.unitrends.com/) however it doesn't image to a virtual image just an image the Unitrends device can restore from (if that makes sense).

0 Kudos
EllettIT
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Well heck, looks like there are some options available here as well:

http://communities.vmware.com/thread/126824?tstart=0

0 Kudos
pisko
Contributor
Contributor

thanks for help

like there money is problem ( as always )

i need backup every 7 days and it goes over LAN 1Gbs ( dont need replication,not realtime )

i have 4 hours to get machine up and running

is there any scripting for Converter ?

if a could setup two scheduled jobs to esx i would be fine

br

0 Kudos
dmorgan
Hot Shot
Hot Shot