VMware Cloud Community
anv9031
Contributor
Contributor

Question on network config

Greetings,

As I am rather new to VM, I'm slightly confused on how to best configure the Service Console and VMotion networks.

We're planning to install ESX 3.5 on several Dell PE R900's, each with 6 nics (2 on board and 2 dual port nic cards). We plan on placing the Service Console on a private network, completed isolated from the network that will be used by our VM's. My question is, does VMotion need it's own private network as well (a 3rd network) or can I use the private network currently reserved for the Service Console. Given that we have 6 nics, what would be considered best practice?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal

Depending on your storage, I would do something like this:

NICs A,B: SC and Vmotion (SC primary on A, Vmotion primary on B)

NIC C,D: Virtual Machines

NIC E,F: iSCSI storage or DMZ, depending on your needs.

--Matt

--Matt VCDX #52 blog.cowger.us
gary1012
Expert
Expert

Other considerations for VMotion can be found here:

Page 7: http://www.vmware.com/pdf/esx3_best_practices.pdf

http://www.eecs.umich.edu/techreports/cse/2007/CSE-TR-539-07.pdf

It's generally recommended to have VMotion on a separate vlan/network due to performance and security reasons.

Community Supported, Community Rewarded - Please consider marking questions answered and awarding points to the correct post. It helps us all.
Bovine
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

I'm currently a fan of the single virtual switch which contains all of the physical NICs. With your six NICs, patch three (one onboard and two NIC) interfaces into each redundant network switch, trunk them (802.3ad) and use VLANs to segregate traffic as required. You'll need VLANs for

Management (service console)

VMotion (vmkernel)

One or more for virtual machines, dmz etc

This way you make best utilisation of the bandwidth (this setup gives redundant 3gbps) and provides redundancy..

0 Kudos
mcowger