VMware Cloud Community
A_Y
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Query on Backup & Restore Oracle on Virtual Machines using Netbackup

I am a newbie in VMWare. I am currently looking for a solution to backup oracle database in a brunch of virtual machines and thus each database can be individually restored (instead of restoring the entire virtual machine from consolidated backup).

We have an ESX Server connected to a SAN via fibre channel for our virtual environment setup. Each virtual machine within the ESX Server is installed with either Oracle 8/9i/10g database correspondently. We want to take a backup of the virtual machine as a whole (like consolidated backup), as well as backup of individual database (as this is the most frequently update object in each virtual machine) to an external backup media, i.e. tape drive. We have looked at the Symantec NetBackup solution to do a backup on both consolidated backup and the database onto the external backup media. We wannt know is it possible to backup the database directly onto the external backup media using the Netbackup Oracle agent, so that each database can be individually restore? If not, is there any other way rounds it to backup each database and thus each database can be restored individually (instead of restore the whole virtual machine)?

It would be a great help if someone can help me on this. Thanks very much

AY

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
patrickds
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

To take a backup of your database, just install the oracle agent for netbackup on your VM, like you would on a physical server.

For best performance, use a separate machine as Netbackup server, and connect the drive to it.

Netbackup will connect to the agent on your oracle VMs and back them up over the network.

Using a VM as backup server could work as well, but you'll have to configure the VM to use the backup device (SCSI i assume) connected to your ESX host, and it cannot be shared between VMs.