VMware Cloud Community
nitinsahi
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Planning ESX Test envirment

Hi All,

Well, I am installing a Test ESX 3.0 with Virtual Center 2.0 with SAN availability.I am new to vmware as I am citrix folk. Later on I will install 1 Citrix Farm for all VM's(just for practice)

I got DL380 G2 server with 8 GB of RAM.Now I need to install ESX Deployment through ISO Image.I am completly unaware of Linux to do any change in service console.I might install SMP as I got key for that too.

Just want to know , what are all images VMFS and other images required by me ? ... I got everything in my SAN however I am not sure how exactly to start and what precautions do I need to take.Can anybopdy help me knowing the prcedure for fresh installation from ISO image which is on SAN.

I think I would be requiring an IP Address too , right ? ..... aah.. I am just doing it by reading books and just need an expert comments here by anyone who has actually done this practically.

Thanks for your help and Suport

Nitin Sahi

nitinnitin50@gmail.com

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
letoatrads
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Got to love nice iLO functionality ( I sometimes forget it is easy to mount ISO's outside of VMWare).

No actual need for the root user for day to day admin, you certainly can use the admin account you created in the initial install to connect with the VI client. I tend to use the root account pw during the initial setup of a box, then once I get it attached and managed to a VC, I change the root pw to an ugly string of #'s and characters.

You should be able to do most of your management through the VI console, but you will need to get onto the box using SSH for updating the box ( ESX patches) and you'll need to use WinSCP or Veamm's FASTSCP ( recommended) to move files etc on and off the box/vmfs.