VMware Cloud Community
Westy
Contributor
Contributor

Performance not brilliant - Bad disk config?? Advice!

Have been six months live with VI3/SAN installation. Total novice when started and had to rely on "consultants" advice but can hopefully now drop the "Total" bit myself and start to address some issues.

Performance is not what we thought it would be but I am sure this is down to bad disk config having read a lot of threads and VMWare stuff. Want to know really, how bad it is (if it is at all) and try to get a bit of advice to remedy.

We currently have:

HP EVA4000 SAN.

10 x 300GB FC configured as one disk group which consists of the following vmfs formatted luns presented to five ESX3 hosts:

"OS_1" - 250GB raid1 - All 22 VM's "C: system drives" are on here spread across the 5 hosts.

"OS_2" - 150GB raid1 which has been added as an extent to "OS_1" (on consultants advice early doors)

"DB" - 300GB raid5 for Exchange & SQL databases, and Domain Controller Active Directory partitions.

"Logs" - 150GB raid1 for Exchange & SQL Logs

The whole disk set is replicated to another EVA3000 SAN in our DR site.

Exchange & SQL performance have been the main problems. All data drives for the servers are on a seperate FATA Disk set configured as one big vmfs volume shared between the VM's and has been 'ok'ish.

Am I right in thinking we have a bad disk setup?

0 Kudos
10 Replies
gorto
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Could be this: "The whole disk set is replicated to another EVA3000 SAN in our DR site. "

The replication could be throttling back your front-end disk activity becasue it can't keep pace. Have a look at your SP logs to see if you have any clues to throttling.

0 Kudos
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

"OS_1" - 250GB raid1 - All 22 VM's "C: system drives" are on here spread across the 5 hosts.

"OS_2" - 150GB raid1 which has been added as an extent to "OS_1" (on consultants advice early doors)