VMware Cloud Community
doggy
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Our DR plan in a nutshell. Everything on 2 HP c-Class blades.

Hi,

I'm a VM newbie, been reading around and have the following in mind. Hoping you can criticize and advise..:

In parallel to our existing Citrix-based infrastructure, I plan to buy in two HP c-class enclosures; one for our primary site and one for our colocation.

Install a BL460c blade server and a storage blade in each enclosure.

Install ESX to each enclosure. On the primary site's enclosure install Citrix servers, SQL, Util servers etc, all as VMs. Put the VMs on the storage blade.

Use 'Doubletake for ESX' on a third machine to replicate the VMs to the colo site.

If we have any issues we down the problem VM in the primary enclosure and bring it up at the colo site. Change its IP and re-register it with DNS.

When the DR system is tested and we're happy with it we move the data from our current system on to the parrallel system, expanding with more blades as required, and go live (I guess this could even be done in stages).

What do you reckon?

Thanks for any responses.

d

Message was edited by:

doggy

Just for typos

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kix1979
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Thanks.

DoubleTake tell me that the current version of DT for

ESX is limited to a 1MByte/sec transfer rate, which

is actually bigger than our primary to colo

connection anyway. And 3.6GGB / hour is bigger than

the changes being made on our whole system too. They

say the VM image won't be corrupted should the

connection die half way through a transfer but I'd

like to test that. If it DT for ESX does what it says

on the tin I'm hoping it solves our replication

dilema.

Not to stray you away from DT, but Vizioncore will be releasing their new version of esxReplicator soon and would recommend you give it a try. And yes, I work for VC in R&D.

In case it doesn't, I'm wondering if there's any