VMware Cloud Community
jbshcmhc
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

No frills Disaster Recovery of VMs

I have been testing VMWare with the free edition for a few months and really think that we can benefit from virtualization in our production network. So I downloaded Virtual Infrastructure 3 trial. I am currently still in the trail period but I have one ESX 3i server running with a couple of Windows 2k3 R2 VM's.

I did not set up a VI server but rather just used the VI client to configure and install the VM's and guest OS. In tinkering around the GUI of the VI client I found the datastore browser. Which will let me move files from the datastore to another location on my network. What I am uncertain of and cant seem to find any documentation on is using this method to download the entire contents of a VM to be used as a disaster recovery method. I do know that I cant download the VM folder...but I can select all of the files within a VM folder and move them to another location on the LAN. However once moved there are 2 more files in the copied folder than the original folder on the ESX box. So this makes me feel uncertain about the ability to use this method as a disaster recovery process.

I realize that there is VCB to do various types of backups on the VM's and their files...but currently we dont have an extra 2k3 server license to run that on. Hopefully in the future we can appropriate funds to procure said licenses and use that. But for now I would like a simple way to take a powered down VM(right after initial configuration) and copy it to another LAN area which then will be sent to tape to be kept off site. I will handle file backups with NT backup on the VM guest OS.

I am pretty sure that Veeam's FastSCP will do this for the free VMWare server....its just the VI Client datastore is what Im not so sure about.

Any input is greatly appreciated! Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
esiebert7625
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution