VMware Cloud Community
nikhoff
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Need advice on new virtual infrastructure (dual core, sas...)

Hello,

I am going to use VMWARE (ESX Server) in order to virtualize existing servers and also to add new servers. I am completely new to virtualization stuff and therefore would be glad to receive any advice, point of view about my future plan.

Current architecture :

80 Users

Network : 100Mbit

\- 1 Print Server (Win2000 SP4, 512Mb Ram, CPu : P3 600Mhz)

\- 1 Applications Server (Win 2000 Sp4, 512Mb ram, CPU : P3 600Mhz)

Future Architecture :

\- 1 IBM Server X3650

\- CPU : 2 x DualCore 5160 3.0Ghz

\- Ram : 8Gb

\- HD : 3x73Go(SAS) or 4x73Go(SAS) with RAID5

\- NIC : at least 2

There will be at least 5 VM :

1st VM : Print Server (16 printers), Win 2003 Server, 1Gb RAM

2nd VM : Applications servers, Win 2003 Server, 1Gb ram

3rd VM : Database Server (Oracle 10G, 10 users only), 2Gb Ram

4th VM : Small Applications Server, 1Gb ram

5th VM : Test Server, 1Gb ram

(6th VM: A web server is scheduled but for next year, should be 1Gb ram)

I have now some questions and would be glad to have some advice, thanks

1) What do you think about the whole (hardware/software repartition) ?

2) Regarding host, how much ram would you recommend : 1Gb ? more ? less ?

3) I am planning to use RAID5 for the whole (host & guests), is it a good idea ?

4) Regarding 1st VM and 2nd VM, I have planned to put 1Gb Ram for each server, but I am wondering if it will really be useful since initial servers (2000 sp4) were having only 512Mb ram (and were working well), a friend advised me to use 1Gb ram for each 2003 server , he told me 2003 server use more ram than 2000 Server. What do you think ?

5) Is it better to use 64-bit version of Win 2003 ? For 32-bit applications, will it work well on 64-bit 2003 Server ?