VMware Cloud Community
ubisec
Contributor
Contributor

Need Recommendations: New ESX 3 implementation on Stand-alone server or Separate Servers?

Hi,

This is going to be one of those questions that has been answered a lot, I'm sure. I just can't seem to find any results when doing a search on the subject, for my specific needs.

Anyway, I wanted to go with a shared-storage set up, but I just can't afford it right now. So, I've decided to go with a Single-Server or Multiple-Less-Powerful-Server implementation, and I need your recommendation. Obviously, I'm a newbie, but I believe ESX 3/3i on v3.0.2 or v3.5 is going to be my best bet.

So, here are my questions:

1. Should I go with the single-server or multi-server set up?

2. Should I go with a stand-alone ESX set up or go with the VI3 Foundation configuration?

3. Which Dell server hardware (only b/c it's cheaper) should I go with, along with specifications? Looking for MOST bang for the buck, but would like hardware to TOTAL no more than $10-15K.

Here is my estimated server list, when all is said and done (about 5 servers exist right now). There are only about 10-30 users expected in the first year of use.

1. Domain Controller

2. Domain Controller

3. Exchange Server

4. Exchange Server

5. CiscoWorks LMS

6. Cisco Security Manager

7. Public Web Server

8. Sharepoint Server

9. File Server

10. Cisco Access Contol Server

11. Cisco Access Control Server

12. DEMO SBS 2K3 Server

13. DEMO W2K3 Server

14. MS SQL Server

15. MS Office Communication Server

16. ConnectWise Server

17. Backup Exec Server

I REALLY appreciate your help!

Thank you!!!!

Ed

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal

Should I go with the single-server or multi-server set up?