VMware Cloud Community
TommyAD
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Looking into migrating Exchange and SQL from Physical servers to VMs...thoughts?

Hi all, I've been using VMs for several years now, however new to using VMWare. I am currently running ESXi 4 on 2 seperate host servers, with about 16 small resource type of apps with no issues. I have heard for years keep the intensive stuff like Exchange and SQL off a guest VM, for perofrmance reasons, but now I am seeing a ton of VMWare articles and showcases pushing this as the thing to do. I have a relatively small environment compared to what they are touting...just wondering if there is anyone out there that has any experiance/thoughts on this? If I did go this route I would likely be looking to buy some of the nicer features instead of just using the free ESXi version.

My current setup uses HP DL360G5 servers that are coming up out of warranty early next year, with the disk subsystem being provided by an Equallogic iSCSI SAN environment, built on a GB isolated network. I was thinking instead of buying the 2 replacement servers I could put the money toward the full version of vSphere with some other goodies it offers.

My Exchange environment is a relatively small number of mailboxes, but larger in size, running 2003 currently with 200 mailboxes at about 300 GB of space. I am planning to upgrade to 2007 or 2010 next year as part of the migration to VM. I know going to the next version will likely involve standing up another server so I could be looking at buying 2 servers instead of 1.

My SQL environment is small to start off with, a single SQL 2005 instance with around 20 DB about 120GB in total size.

The 2 host machines I have are both dual socket quad Xeon processors with 16GB and 24GB of RAM, with less than 50% RAM utilization each...and the processing power is hardly being touched at all.

Sorry its a lot of info, I hope it makes sense to someone...

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
amvmware