VMware Cloud Community
Michael-Comtec
Contributor
Contributor

Is Infrastructure 3 right for me?

Hi

I'm new to Infrastructure 3 and from what I have been reading it will do what I want, however I thought I would ask the people that use it and know it.

I want to know if it will do the following for me

I will have physical Server A and physical Server B.

Server A will run a Virtual Win 2K3 server, all the files and configuration information for this Virtual server will be stored on the local HD of Server A.

Now, should something happen to Server A then I want Server B to take over the running of the Virtual Server.

There is no direct connection between Server A and Server B and they don't share any storage.

So is this possible?

Thanks

Michael

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Draconis
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Not automatically. If you were to have a backend that both can share, then the High Availability (HA) feature of ESX can handle it for you. If you are willing to live with a manual way, then you can just keep really good backups, restore from backups or even keep them replicating. Manual approach will have data loss depending on your environment. This might not be an option for Database servers since you will probably have significant losses. If you are just gonna restore from backups then you can just restore it on the other ESX server and then add to inventory.

If you have found my answer helpful or correct, please consider awarding points.

If you have found my answer helpful or correct, please consider awarding points.
Draconis
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

What is this server actually going to be virtualizing? What are the roles for that virtualized server? Is it only one server that will be virtualized? Regarding the restore, that might actually be very time consuming depending on how much data you need restored. If they were just file servers I would just use Distributed File System in R2 of Windows Server 2003.

0 Kudos
Michael-Comtec
Contributor
Contributor

Hi